DE KAMER BE LA CHAMBRE BE

The French Community and the Walloon Region

The Walloon Region

>> The Walloon Parliament

Elections

The elections for the Walloon Parliament are held every five years. They take place on the same day as the elections for the European Parliament.

The members of the Walloon Parliament were directly elected for the first time on 21 May 1995. The last elections were held on 9 June 2024.

Such as for the federal elections there is an electoral threshold of 5% in each constituency for the regional elections and there must be as many women as men on the electoral lists. The age in order to be eligible for election is 18 years.

The Walloon Parliament is a "legislative parliament" which means that it cannot be dissolved before the end of the period that it has been elected for.

Competences

Issuing decrees

The Walloon Parliament issues decrees that are applicable to the French-speaking language Region (not Brussels) and the German-speaking language Region.

Appointments and political control

The Walloon Parliament appoints the Walloon regional government. The government is accountable to the Parliament.

The Parliament can only force the government to resign by passing a "motion of constructive disapproval". With such a motion the Parliament withdraws its confidence in the government and immediately proposes a new government.

The Parliament may also force an individual member of the government to resign and deal with his replacement.

Financial control

Every year the Parliament approves the Walloon regional budget.

Workings and composition of the Walloon Parliament

The Walloon Parliament itself can, i.e. without the approval of the federal political authorities, govern a certain number of aspects of its own workings and composition. It may for example change the boundaries of the electoral constituencies, the number of members of the Parliament and government, etc.

Transfer of competences

Article 139 of the Constitution stipulates that the bodies of the German-speaking Parliament can exercise certain competences of the Walloon Region. By a law adopted at the end of 2001¹, more competences were transferred. Next to monuments and sites, the German-speaking Community is also competent for the election expenditures of the Parliament and the announcements of the government and the additional financing of the political parties.

Composition

The Walloon Parliament consists of 75 directly elected members in the Walloon Region.

Number of seats per constituency



>>> The Walloon government

The Walloon regional government numbers 8 members. The members of government take the oath before the President of the Parliament. They are called ministers. The President himself takes the oath before the King. He is called the Minister-President.

¹ Law of 7 January 2002 modifying the law of 31 December 1983 reforming the institutions of the German-speaking community.

The French Community

(in French called Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles)

>> The Parliament of the French Community

Composition

The Parliament is not directly elected. It consists of the 75 members who form the Walloon Parliament, and an additional 19 members from the French-speaking language group of the Brussels-Capital Regional Parliament. The Parliament thus has a total of 94 members.

Competences

Issuing decrees

The decrees of the French Community Parliament apply to the French-speaking language Region and also to certain Brussels institutions.

Appointments and political control

The Parliament of the French Community appoints the government of the French Community. The government is accountable to the Parliament.

The Parliament may, in the same way as the Walloon Parliament, force the government to resign by passing a "motion of constructive disapproval".

Financial control

The Parliament of the French Community approves the French Community budget every year.

Transfer of competences

The French Community has ceded a certain number of competences. They concern social promotion, occupational retraining, school transport, subsidizing communal and private sporting infrastructure, family assistance, immigration policy, senior citizens, rest homes, policy for the disabled, etc. For the French-speaking Region these competences are exercised by the institutions of the Walloon Region. In Brussels these powers are exercised by the French Community Commission of the Brussels-Capital Region (see information sheet 26). This transfer of competences is provided by article 138 of the Constitution. Other competences may also be transferred in the future.

Workings and composition of the French Community Parliament

The French Community Parliament may also stipulate the basic rules regarding its number of members, status, indemnities, etc.

>> The French Community government

The French Community government numbers six members. One minister at least must have his residence in the bilingual Region of Brussels-Capital.

The members of the government take the oath before the President of the Parliament. The President himself takes his oath before the King.

The members of the government issue decrees.

The ministers of the government of the French Community can also be part of the Walloon government and of the government of the Region of Brussels-Capital.

French Community

Government: <u>www.gouvernement.cfwb.be</u> Parliament: <u>www.pfwb.be.be</u>

Walloon Region

Government: <u>www.wallonie.be</u> Parliament: <u>www.parlement-wallonie.be</u>