## **DE KAMER BE** LA CHAMBRE BE

# Senate Composition

# The revision of the Constitution in 2014

The revision of the Constitution in 1993 had already revolutionised the composition of the Senate.

The revision of the Constitution in 2014, as part of the Sixth State Reform, radically reformed the composition of the Senate.

As from the 2014 elections, the Senate ceased to be composed of directly-elected Senators, and became a body consisting of members designated by the parliaments of the federated entities. The aim was to transform the Senate into a body where the various entities of the country meet. Only the institution of co-opted Senators remains from the previous composition. The institution of "Senators by right" (certain members of the royal family) has disappeared.

## Who can be co-opted as a Senator?

To be designated as a Senator, the candidate must:

- be a Belgian
- not have been deprived of his/her civic and political rights
- be at least eighteen years of age
- be domiciled in Belgium.

### How is the Senate made up?

#### **Designated Senators**

The Senate has the following designated Senators:

- 29 Senators designated by the Flemish Parliament from its ranks or from the ranks of the Dutch linguistic group of the Parliament of the Brussels-Capital Region
- 10 Senators designated by the Parliament of the French-speaking Community from its ranks
- 8 Senators designated by the Parliament of the Walloon Region from its ranks

- 2 Senators designated by the French linguistic group of the Parliament of the Brussels-Capital Region from its ranks
- 1 Senator designated by the Parliament of the German-speaking Community from its ranks.

These seats are divided between the lists, to reflect the totals of the electoral results of the lists, obtained in the various electoral constituencies at elections for the parliament of the federal entity concerned, according to the system of proportional representation.

#### **Co-opted Senators**

The Senate has the following co-opted Senators:

- 6 Senators co-opted by the Senators designated by the Flemish Parliament or the Dutch linguistic group of the Parliament of the Brussels-Capital Region from its ranks
- 4 Senators co-opted by the Senators designated by the Parliament of the French-speaking Community from its ranks, by the Parliament of the Walloon Region from its ranks or by the French linguistic group of the Parliament of the Brussels-Capital Region from its ranks.

These seats are divided between the lists, to reflect the totals of the electoral results of the lists, obtained in the elections for the House of Representatives, according to the system of proportional representation.

> Website of the Senate: www.senate.be