CHAMER BE

The Territory of the Federal State of Belgium Communities and regions

Belgium consists of four language regions

The Dutch-speaking Region The French-speaking Region The bilingual Region of Brussels-Capital The German-speaking Region

Belgium consists of 3 communities

- 1. The Flemish Community (= the Region of Flanders plus the Dutch-speaking institutions in the Brussels-Capital Region)
- 2. The French Community (= the Region of Wallonia, without the German-speaking region, but with the French-speaking institutions in the Brussels-Capital Region)
- 3. TheGerman-speakingCommunity(=theGerman-speakingRegion : the communes of Amel, Büllingen, Burg-Reuland, Bütgenbach, Eupen, Kelmis, Lontzen, Raeren and Sankt-Vith)



Belgium consists of 3 regions

- 1. The Flemish Region (= the Dutch-speaking Region) (Art. 5 of the Constitution : "...the Flemish Region is made up of the following provinces: Antwerp, Flemish Brabant, West Flanders, East Flanders and Limburg...") Population: 6.821.770
- 2. The Walloon Region (= the French-speaking region and the German-speaking region) (Art. 5 of the Constitution : "...the Walloon Region is made up of the following provinces : Walloon Brabant, Hainaut, Liege, Luxemburg and Namur...") Population: 3.692.283
- 3. 3. The Brussels Region (= the bilingual Region of Brussels-Capital) Population: 1.249.597

Belgium consists of 10 provinces







